Everyone Talk: The Language Blog That Has Everyone Talking

Just over two years ago, I started blogging. I was going to have one blog with three sections: humour, languages, and generally causing trouble (yeah, take that, corporate overlords). But I remembered the adage, “Don’t put all your obsessions in one basket.” So I set languages aside for later. Now is later.

Good Evaning, the blog that is the change I want to see in the world, is a thriving two-year-old, so I now turn to my second born (which we all know is always the best). Everyone Talk, “The Language Blog That Has Everyone Talking”, has been sitting there in cyberspace almost completely ignored for 23 months (as often happens to second children).

International Phonetic Alphabet chart of English sounds

International Phonetic Alphabet

Everyone Talk came out of hibernation in the first hour (in some time zone) of this month and has been up and running like a gazelle ever since. If you are one of those people who communicate through language, please sift through my blog posts on Everyone Talk, leave some comments, questions, suggestions, corrections, or smutty photos, and please don’t consider not subscribing to Everyone Talk.

Why am I doing this and why should you care? It is my profound belief that the vast majority of human unhappiness can be resolved through effective communication, especially listening. And even if not, it’s fun as hell to be able to talk with people from all over the world and read their ideas, news and literature in their beautiful and fascinating languages.

Most often, I will write in English — about English, about other languages, and about all things relating to second-language acquisition and communication in general — but periodically I will write in Spanish, French, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese, and I may dip into other languages occasionally. If you can’t read things I’ve written in Korean or Japanese, it is the fault of your computer which can easily be adjusted to make those texts readable. If after that you still can’t read those scripts, what needs to be adjusted is your attitude towards language learning, a problem easily corrected by subscribing to Everyone Talk! language settings for Microsoft

4 Comments

Filed under beginnings, language, languages and communication, writing

4 responses to “Everyone Talk: The Language Blog That Has Everyone Talking

  1. Well – I think you stopped the conversation, which in itself is a communication. I couldn’t agree more that communication is essential, and too often essentially missing. But I do have one suggestion: if you write something in any language other than English, since I gather most of your readers are that, why not write the same observation/comment/description in both your ‘language du jour’ and then in English? Amongst other things, it would get your views of your subject known to all, and your views are very interesting/knowledgeable/witty (I do like slashes in any language.) It would also indicate the subtleties of translation and how tricky it is to get the same point across in another language, since literal translation has many hazards of misinterpretation. Especially with computers.

    Some of your readers will be willing to try that route, but you may be making a very good argument about something in a foreign language that will be lost to those who agree about intricacies of communication but not to the extent of looking up a Korean version. Personally, I’d like to know what you have to say on almost any subject because you’re such a good writer and research your subject. But I find computer programs frustrating even in English and am not sure I have the patience to try and seek out a translation to English that would be true to your content. I’m very impressed that you are delving so seriously into so many languages. It’s a great obsession – but it’s yours. I’m still wrestling with becoming conversant in French but have no illusions about going elsewhere, yet would hate to miss your message.

    It’s just a thought. I’ll keep reading you anyway.

    • Thank you, P. Zel, for a response thorough enough to fill the void left by the absence of other comments!
      Indeed, the trick about http://everyonetalk.wordpress.com is that I am writing not just for English speakers but for language users generally. I hope readers won’t mind picking and choosing which posts are of interest to them and which ones are not. But I will encourage everyone to request further explanation of anything they wish to understand better (whether a student of English reading something I’ve written about the word-play of Monty Python, or a speaker of English wanting to know what I’ve written in Spanish contrasting American Sign Language and Lenguaje de Señas Mexicanas (Mexican Sign Language).

      Probably more than half of the posts I write on that blog will be written in English, (with translations of any part that is not in English). This would include topics of interest to English speakers, about English itself, for example, or about other languages English speakers want to learn or are interested in, or matters concerning communication in general.

      But I may also write things which are aimed at, for example, Spanish speaking students of English. In such a case, my concern would be for the comprehension of Spanish speakers.

      My hope is that I will reach thousands of readers from around the world who do not all have a solid grasp of a common language. That might actually be the foundation of my mission statement.

      Please do keep making suggestions (even rowdy complaints) about Everyone Talk as well as about Good Evaning. What I’m trying to do with both of these blogs, after all, is establish a global dialogue.

      Thank you for reading.
      Thank you for writing.
      Thank you for reading again.
      Thank you for reading and writing more.

  2. Oh. OK then. Why didn’t you say so before?

What do you think?

