Water WAnTER: Waste Not Want Not

Water: Think Globally, Drink Locally

Whenever I think about what’s important, water comes to mind. Nothing does a body more good than water. I fill myself with water, I immerse myself in water. The closer I live to water, the happier is my life.

UN Water World Water Day

UN Water World Water Day

Water is it.

I would not claim that I use less water than others, but I think about how I use water, and I appreciate water. We use water the way we use the word “it“, without thinking about it, without considering what it means or where it came from or how we would get by without it. It’s crazy how it is always there for us.

Will water always be there for everyone?

If you don’t know what happened in 2000 when an American corporation bought all the water in [Cochabamba,] Bolivia, including the rainwater, then you have not yet seen the most important film so far this century The Corporation (2003).

Another film that should interest all fresh-water drinkers is Blue Gold: World Water Wars (2008), just one of the films being shown at the Ecologos free Thursday evening film series Water Docs in Toronto from March 22 World Water Day until April 22 Earth Day.

If documentaries aren’t your thing, consider the political weight of Canada’s water as examined in the dramatic Paul Gross mini-series H2O(2004).

Paul Gross mini-series H2O

What can one person do?

Appreciate your water. http://www.davidsuzuki.org/issues/freshwater/

Let others have their water. http://www.blueplanetproject.net/Involvement/index.html

Don’t stop bathing, but think about how much goes down the drain. Here are a couple of habits I’ve acquired:

  1. When running the water till is gets cold/hot, I collect that “waste water” in a pitcher and save it for my plants.
  2. BYOTW. I almost always bring a bottle of tap water whenever I leave the house. I’ve rarely had a day when I didn’t wish I had some water, so I try to always have some with me. (The only time to buy bottled water is when travelling in regions where the local water system carries little beasties my gut is not accustomed to and the other options are dehydration or dysentery. I’ve learned to go for sparkling water to make sure it is not bottled tap water).
UN Water World Water Day, How Much Water Is Needed For That

How Much Water Is Needed For That?

But water is wasted everywhere you look, and it’s not just about tap water and bottled water. Water is inextricable from agriculture, food security, the oil sands, etc., etc., etc. Water is everywhere wasted.

Happy World Water Day!

8 Comments

Filed under conscious consumption, documentary, habits, sustainable

8 responses to “Water WAnTER: Waste Not Want Not

  1. Seth Smythe

    It would be nice to think logic and foresight would influence people’s directions and decisions in liife, but I suspect 99% of the world will wait until Bolivia comes to their own door, which is of course too late. We are an inherently reactionary species, as slothful as we are selfish, and dying of thirst will be a poetic ending on the only planet known to exist with ample surface water. Only humanity could be so pathetic. Water was one of the pimary influences on such luminaries as Einstein and Suzuki coming to the conclusion that meat was unsustainable to feed a growing human population. *sigh*
    At least there is a chance that the tiny minority, like this author, will have the wit to survive the impending bottleneck of our species and the remaining few will actually learn from the mistakes of our childhood.

    • Hey, how much water was needed to generate this comment?
      I didn’t intend to provoke 99%-bashing.
      But you’re right; the problem with humanity is the people.

  2. Thanks for acknowledging one of the most important nutrients! Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

  3. Another excellent reason not to add water to your Scotch. I like to help any way I can.

    P. Zel

  4. I like P.Zel’s comment about drinking Scotch (straight up!)… i have a t-shirt that says, “Save Water..” & on the other side “Drink Corona!” (a good strategy, but how sustainable?? : )

  5. Jade'sMom

    1.Another reason to breastfeed! (Though mama needs to drink water to make milk).
    2 We too had a slopbucket to catch graywater and used it to flush the toilet on occasion.
    3.How can someone own a country’s rain water?

    • 3.How can someone own a country’s* rain water?
      *I was mistaken; it was the water of Bolivia’s 3rd largest city, Cochabamba.

      The impoverished Bolivian government, compelled by the World Bank, made a deal with an American corporation which was to take charge of the water delivery system in Cochabamba. But when people were charged 20% of their average income for water service, and the corporation stipulated that it would be illegal for citizens even to collect rain water, there was a revolt.

      But what’s easier than making a deal with a desperate government is for a corporation just to take water without asking, just as Nestlé has drained 3.6 million litres of water a day in Aberfoyle, Ontario (near Guelph) and sells it in millions of bottles, and Coke supplies one of its 49 factories in India with about a billion litres of water a year that would otherwise have been available for farmers and the local population.

      Ah well, World Water Day is over. Let the corporations bleed the earth dry until next March 22.

  6. Water is overlooked by many in the whole equation. The southwest U.S. had a very mild winter and could be another tough year. Good post and a good read

What do you think?

