Consistency, in Moderation

It is good to be consistent, sometimes.

Mixed nuts

Odd nut. (Photo by Evan Andrew Mackay)

Consistently washing your hands is generally commendable. As for the desirability of consistently laughing at my clever remarks, opinions vary.

Consistently driving on the right hand side of the road, in a forward motion, is helpful in some countries, but would likely be problematic in others.

Consistently comforting a crying child might seem a good idea, until (as I learned over the holidays) the child catches on to the potential for manipulation.

What about in my writing? I aim (with limited success) for my writing to be consistently satisfying – consistency of quality – but there is some expectation that a writer should maintain a degree of consistency in quantity, to produce a certain quantity of words within a certain time frame.

Should I write one blog post every week, every second week, or every three days? Or should I write a blog post when I have something I think would be of particular interest to, um, say, you for example?

In defense of the irregularity of my postings I could quote Oscar Wilde, “Consistency is the last refuge of the unimaginative.

If one is too consistent, they get called “extremist” like when Lisa Simpson insists her mother pay for the two grapes she ate at the grocery store – “I need a price check on two grapes. Yeah, you heard me, Phil. Two measly, stinkin’ grapes.” Lisa is just sticking to her principles. As Ayn Rand fairly observes, extremism is merely consistency.

I’m not extremely extreme, myself, but I am consistently inconsistent. So as my New Year’s resolution, by which I mean to say my first New Moon resolution of 2012, I will aim for consistency – in moderation – regarding the regularity of my output. And I mean that in an entirely non-medical way (but stay tuned for my upcoming Fringe show blog).

And now, in the spirit of “Moderation in everything, including moderation”, let’s open another bottle of Amarone.

6 Comments

Filed under beginnings, habits, writing

6 responses to “Consistency, in Moderation

  1. Dave

    Hmmm….such a stance might make it difficult to be on a debating team. Let’s agree that consistency in matters such as medical procedures, baking, and gin and tonics is to be desired; the rest is a free-for-all.

  2. Another bottle of Amarone? Another? Which is another example of inconsistency in poverty. Which actually is the only attitude, because if you wallow in poverty you bore yourself to death and thus no good writing is achieved.
    I drink to only writing when one is soberly convinced one has something to write about. (And please don’t say it was home-made or I would have to doubt your taste – which i know to be perfecto.)

  3. – unlike my editing, apparently. In which I am consistent.

  4. caro.

    I will be consistently reading your moderations.

  5. AG

    I’ve been consistently looking forward to reading a new blog post on here, regardless of the views being moderate or immoderate.

  6. AG

    Ha. That’s actually pretty funny that the automatic message I received upon posting my first comment on a blog on a post that is, in large part, about moderation was, “Your comment is awaiting moderation.” Even the interwebs finds me to be immoderate.

What do you think?

